How to renew certification for military personnel

September 14, 2009 by  
Filed under Do-It-Yourself (Howto)

Statute 48-3403 allows military service personnel who are required by law to obtain continuing education as a condition to renew.

Your certification expiration date must be current at the time of entering the military service.

Step 1.             Go to our website and on the drop-down menu, click on Tools  then Forms and under Certification, open the Military Reinstatement Form form.

Step 2.             Military service personnel are exempt from continuing education requirements until completion of the next full licensure period.

Step 3.             Within six months after release from military service, but not later than two weeks after engaging in or practicing in emergency medical services (EMS) in Kansas, the renewal fee and application must be submitted.  You will not be charged any late fees or penalties.

Step 4.             The Military service personnel send the Military Reinstatement Form with a copy of your orders activating and releasing you or a copy of your DD214 to:

Kansas Board of EMS

900 SW Jackson, Suite 1031

Topeka, KS  66612

Attention: Chrystine Hannon

Step 5.              Make the check or money order payable to:

Kansas Board of EMS, and Mail to the address in Step 4.

The fees are as listed:

First Responder – $20

EMT, EMT-I, EMT-D, EMT-I/D – $30

MICT –  $50

Step 6.             You will receive your new card in the mail with a letter giving you the time frame for mailing in your continuing education certificates. 

If you have questions, email chrystine.hannon@ems.ks.gov

How to regain your expired certification

September 14, 2009 by  
Filed under Do-It-Yourself (Howto)

The process of re-instating an expired certification does not constitute an extension of certification. Until the process is complete, you may not legally practice as an attendant.

Step 1. Download the form titled Application to Re-Instate an Expired Certification (found under Tools then Forms then Certification).

All hours must be Board approved.  If they are not Board approved, please refer to directions outlined within the Application for Retroactive Approval of EMS Continuing Education.

Step 2.

Option 1.  If your certification has expired more than 31 calendar days but less than two years you will be required to obtain continuing education hours as listed below:

(A) For each first responder, at least 32 clock hours

(B) for each EMT, at least 56 clock-hours;

(C) for each EMT-I, at least 72 clock-hours;

(D) for each EMT-D, at least 72 clock-hours;

(E) for each EMT-I who is also certified as an EMT-D, at least 88 clock-hours;

(F) for each MICT, at least 120 clock-hours

Option 2.  If your certification has expired for two or more years, but less than four you are required to obtain continuing education hours as listed below:

(A) For each first responder, at least 64 clock-hours;

(B) for each EMT, at least 112 clock-hours;

(C) for each EMT-I, at least 144 clock-hours;

(D) for each EMT-D, at least 144 clock-hours;

(E) for each EMT-I who is also certified as an EMT-D, at least 176 clock-hours;

(F) for each MICT, at least 240 clock-hours; and

provide documentation of successful completion of a USDOT refresher training course that includes both cognitive and psycho motor examinations approved by the KBEMS Executive Director or designee at the level for which the individual is requesting reinstatement; and provides documentation of successful  completion of a CPR course.

Option 3.  If your certification has expired for four or more years, but less than six you are required to obtain continuing education hours as listed below:

(A) For each first responder, at least 128 clock-hours;

(B) for each EMT, at least 224 clock-hours;

(C) for each EMT-I, at least 288 clock-hours;

(D) for each EMT-D, at least 288 clock-hours;

(E) for each EMT-I who is also certified as an EMT-D, at least 352 clock-hours;

(F) for each MICT, at least 480 clock-hours; and

provide documentation of successful completion of a USDOT refresher training course that includes both cognitive and psycho motor examinations approved by the KBEMS Executive Director or designee at the level for which the individual is requesting reinstatement; and provides documentation of successful completion of a CPR course.

Option 4. If your certification has expired for more than six years but less than eight you are required to obtain continuing education hours as listed below:

(A)For each first responder, at least 256 clock-hours;

(B) for each EMT, at least 448 clock-hours;

(C) for each EMT-I, at least 576 clock-hours;

(D) for each EMT-D, at least 576 clock-hours;

(E) for each EMT-I who is also certified as an EMT-D, at least 704 clock-hours;

(F) for each MICT, at least 960 clock-hours; and

provide documentation of successful completion of a USDOT refresher training course that includes both cognitive and psycho motor examinations approved by the KBEMS Executive Director designee at the level for which the individual is requesting reinstatement; and provides documentation of successful completion of a CPR course.

Option 5. If your certification has expired for more than eight years you are required to obtain continuing education hours as listed below:

(A) For each first responder, at least 512 clock-hours;

B) for each EMT, at least 896 clock-hours;

C) for each EMT-I, at least 1,152 clock-hours;

D) for each EMT-D, at least 1,152 clock-hours;

E) for each EMT-I who is also certified as an EMT-D, at least 1,408 clock-hours

F) for each MICT, at least 1,920 clock-hours; and

provide documentation of successful completion of a USDOT refresher training course that includes both cognitive and psycho motor examinations approved by the KBEMS Executive Director or designee at the level for which the individual is requesting reinstatement; and provides documentation of successful completion of a CPR course.

Step 3. Pay the fee as listed below and make check or money order payable to:  Kansas Board of EMS

First Responder is $80
EMT, EMT-I, EMT-D & EMT-I/D is $120
MICT is $200

Step 4. Fill out the downloaded form (Step 1)

Step 5.     Gather and copy all Certificates of Attendance for mailing

Step 6.     Mail application, fee, and appropriate documentation (see Step 1 through Step 6) to:

Kansas Board of EMS

900 SW Jackson, Suite 1031

Topeka, KS  66612.

If you have questions email chrystine.hannon@ems.ks.gov

How to regain your expired T/O certification

September 14, 2009 by  
Filed under Do-It-Yourself (Howto)

If a Training Officer certification has expired within the past two years, the requirements are as follows:

Step 1.            Attend an Educator’s Conference before the two years are up.

Step 2.            Instruct 20 hours of training applicable to EMS values, skills, knowledge and practice.

Step 3.            Obtain proof of completion for Step 1 and Step 2

Step 4.            Go to our website and on the drop-down menu, click on Tools  then Forms; Open the

Training Officer Regain Application

Step 5.            Complete the application

Step 6.            Include a check or money order in the amount of $120 made payable to the Kansas Board of EMS.

Step 7.             Mail all items (Step 3 through Step 6)

Kansas Board of EMS

900 SW Jackson, Suite 1031

Topeka, KS  66612

Step 8.             Once the application is received and approved, a new Training Officer card will be mailed.

If you have questions contact chrystine.hannon@ems.ks.gov

How to change appointing authority for T/O’s

September 14, 2009 by  
Filed under Do-It-Yourself (Howto)

A Training Officer must be appointed by one of the following persons:  The chief executive officer or designee of an ambulance service, a hospital, a fire department or a municipal rescue squad; or an administrator or designee for an educational institution or organization that conducts EMS training programs.  If one of these designated appointment’s changes, the Training Officer must notify the Board of this.

Step 1.             Go to our website and on the drop-down menu, click on Tools  then Forms;

Open the Training Officer Verification of Appointment form under the Certification section

Step 2.            Complete application with the appropriate signatures from ONE (1) of the following:

The chief executive officer or designee of an ambulance service;

– a hospital;

– a fire department or a municipal rescue squad;

– an administrator or designee for an educational institution; or

– an organization that conducts EMS training programs.

Step 3.            Copy all documents and keep a copy for your records

Step 4.            Mail all documents (Step 1 through Step 2) to:

Kansas Board of EMS

900 SW Jackson, Suite 1031

Topeka, KS  66612

Step 5.            Or fax to 785-296-6212.

How to regain your expired I/C certification

September 14, 2009 by  
Filed under Do-It-Yourself (Howto)

If an Instructor/Coordinator certification has expired within the past two years, the requirements are as follows:

Step 1.            You must complete the following:

1.      Complete 40 contact hours in adult education theory and methodology approved by the Board, and

2.       Successfully completed an Educator’s Workshop approved by the Board.

Step 2.            Obtain proof of completion (1) and (2) of Step 1.

Step 3.             Download and Fill out the “Instructor/Coordinator Regain Application

Step 4.             Include a check or money order in the amount of $120 made payable to the Kansas Board of EMS.

Step 5.            Mail all items (Step 2 through Step 4)

Kansas Board of EMS

900 SW Jackson, Suite 1031

Topeka, KS  66612

Step 6.             Once the application is received and approved, a new Instructor Coordinator card will be mailed.

If you have questions contact chrystine.hannon@ems.ks.gov

How to respond to an audit

September 14, 2009 by  
Filed under Do-It-Yourself (Howto)

Every year the Board of EMS does a random computer audit of attendant’s certification.

An Attendant may be selected for audit and asked for certificates of attendance for the last renewal cycle.

These certificates should include:

  • Name
  • Name of Institution providing training
  • Date or dates attended
  • Topic
  • Course identification number (CIN)
  • Site coordinator’s signature
  • Number of hours awarded

If you receive the letter follow the steps below.

Step 1.            Gather your Board approved certificates, copy them and

Step 2.            Forward those documents to:

a.  Kansas Board of EMS, 900 SW Jackson, Suite 1031, Topeka, KS  66612 or;

b.  Fax to 785-296-6212 and include the letter which was mailed to you informing you of the audit if you have that.

Step 3.            Upon receipt you will be informed of any errors or omissions.

Step 4.             If all information is correct, you will receive a letter stating the audit has been concluded.

Step 5.             If information is not complete, or hours are missing, additional information MUST be provided.  A decision to ignore an audit will result in revocation of attendant certificate.


If you have questions contact chrystine.hannon@ems.ks.gov

How to gain Kansas certification from a military course

September 14, 2009 by  
Filed under Do-It-Yourself (Howto)

Applicants who have taken a course outside of Kansas must have successfully completed a USDOT National Standard Curriculum course of instruction to qualify for Kansas certification.

Step 1.            The course will be reviewed for equivalence to the Kansas enrichments and must be 90% equivalent.

Step 2.            Open the form Recognition of Non-Kansas Credentials.

 

Step 3.            Fill out Part I (of the form). Obtain a copy of your national registry or state card if you have one.

If you are certified in another state, Fill out the top part of Page 8 (Verification of Certification Status) and fax or mail to that state. They will in turn send it to our office.

Step 4.           If you are not seeking a “Temporary Certification”, please move to Step 6.

Step 5.            If seeking a temporary certification, mark “yes” to the question relating to temporary certification, at the bottom of page 2 of the form  and also have page 3 completed.

 The temporary certification will allow the Applicant to work for up to one year under the out of state card while you are obtaining permanent Kansas certification.

Step 6.            Fill out and send Part II of the form to the Instructor or Official that is representing the Initial Course program to verify successful completion.

For the MICT level you will need the medical director’s signature as  well.

 

If you took your course through the military, below are the Military Liaisons where you may mail part II:

 

1.  Air Force:                       Msgt. Jeffrey Cahill, EMS Program Manager

882 TRG/CEMT

Sheppard AFB, TX  76311-2266

940-676-7569

2.   Army:                           Mr. Ishmael Diaz

US Army EMS

2405 Reynold Rd., Bldg. 2266

Ft. Sam Houston, TX  78234

210-221-0837

3.  Coast Guard:              HS1 Andre Carson

2100 2nd Street, SVV-JR-0331

Washington DC  20024

202-475-5167

4.  Navy:                           HM1 Jay Baum

Navy EMT Program Mgr/SEAT Liaison

NAVMED MPT&E Command

8901 Wisconsin Avenue

Bethesda, MD  20889-5611

301-319-4762

5.  National Parks:          Dean Ross

National Park Service

Branch Chief of Emergency Services

1201 I Street, 10th Floor

Washington DC  20005

202-513-7093

Step 7.          Upon completion, the Initial Program or Military Liaison should forward the completed Part II to you.

Step 8.          Pay the fee as listed below, made payable to the Board of EMS:  

First Responder:  $20

EMT:  $50

MICT:  $65

Step 9.          Send Part I, Part II, a copy of your certification card (if you have one), and the fee to:

 

Kansas Board of EMS
900 SW Jackson, Suite 1031
Topeka, KS  66612
Attention: Chrystine Hannon

Step 10.        Once the equivalency is determined,  we will notify you if you have met the requirements.

                         If you are an EMT-I or do not possess a state or national registry card, you will receive testing materials. Once the test is taken:

     If you pass, you will receive results with Kansas certification.

     If you fail, you will be notified and need  to apply for practical retest exam.

 

If you have questions email chrystine.hannon@ems.ks.gov

How to gain Kansas certification from out of state.

September 14, 2009 by  
Filed under Do-It-Yourself (Howto)

Applicants who have taken a course outside of Kansas must have successfully completed a USDOT National Standard Curriculum course of instruction to qualify for Kansas certification. The course will be reviewed for equivalence to the Kansas enrichments and must be 90% equivalent.

Step 1.            Go to the KBEMS website and click the form Recognition of Non-Kansas Credentials.

 

Step 2.            Fill out Part I (of the form). Obtain a copy of your national registry or state card if you have one.

If you are certified in another state, fill out the top part of Page 8 (Verification of Certification Status)  and fax or mail it to that state. They will in turn send it to our office.

Step 3.           If you are not seeking a “Temporary Certification”, please move to Step 5.

Step 4.            If seeking Temporary Certification, mark “yes” to the question relating to temporary certification at the bottom of  page 2 of the form and also have page 3 completed.
The Temporary Certification will allow you to work for up to one year under the out of state card while obtaining permanent Kansas certification.

Step 5.            Fill out and send Part II of the form to the Instructor or Official that is representing the Initial Course program to verify successful completion of the course.

For the MICT level you will need the medical director’s signature as well.

Step 6.          Upon completion, the Initial Course program should forward the completed Part II to you.

– If you are an EMT-I, please proceed to Step 8

– If you are NOT an EMT-I, please proceed to Step 7

 

Step 7.          Pay the fee as listed below by check or money order made payable to: Kansas Board of EMS.

– First Responder $20

– EMT $50

– MICT  $65

Step 8.          The Applicant sends Part I, Part II, a copy of your certification card (if you have one), and the fee (no fee for EMT-I):

Kansas Board of EMS
900 SW Jackson, Suite 1031
Topeka, KS  66612
Attention: Chrystine Hannon

Step 9.          Once the application is received by the KBEMS office, KBEMS will determine equivalency to current Kansas  curriculum.

Step 10.       Once the equivalency is determined,  we will notify you if you have met the requirements.

                         If you are an EMT-I or do not possess a state or national registry card, you will receive testing materials. Once the test is taken:

     If you pass, you will receive results with Kansas certification.

     If you fail, you will be notified and need  to apply for practical retest exam.

If you have questions email chrystine.hannon@ems.ks.gov

How to read the Kansas-EMS Listserv Archives.

September 14, 2009 by  
Filed under Do-It-Yourself (Howto)

Below are the steps you can take in case you were interested in reading again old messages that were posted on the listserv. Remember: The Archives are stored for only ONE year.

Step 1.  Go to:  http://list.da.state.ks.us:1080/read/?forum=kansas-ems

Step 2. Enter your email address and hit “Enter” to log-in

Step 3. Click on “Messages” on the top left corner to list the messages in the archives.

Step 4. Click on the subject to read the original messages and the subsequent replies.

Step 5. Click on “Show more” or “Show fewer” for more or less messages on one page.

Step 6. Click on “Next” to go to the next page.

Step 7. Click on “Logout” to terminate your session.

How to Subscribe to the Kansas-EMS Listserv

September 14, 2009 by  
Filed under Do-It-Yourself (Howto)

Step 1.      Go to www.ksbems.org/listserv.html

Step 2.      Read and make sure you understand the Rules.

Step 3.      Scroll down to the bottom of the page to subscribe

Step 4.      Please enter your information in the form

  • The red asterix (*) means the field is required and must be filled in.
  • The Email field should be in the form of “abcd@efg.xyz.

    Step 5.      On the last box, make sure you enter exactly the shown characters.

    Step 6.      Click on the “SUBMIT” button.

    Step 7.      You should receive a confirmation message soon after submitting your form.
    If you do not, please double-check that you filled in all the required fields. If you have not
    received any listserv messages 7 days after you submitted your subscription request,
    please send an email to Jean Claude Kandagaye at jkandagaye@ems.ks.gov.

    Next Page »